Yay or Nay? Milani Nail Lacquer – Purple Gleam

So, I’ve had this little Milani Purple Gleam for quite some time and finally got around to trying it out!  It looks so gorgeous in the bottle, right?

Good grief, this polish is gritty! I put two coats on my nails and the clean up on this was hell!  You can see in the photos, I have glitter bits all over my fingers.  I’m sure if I had waited for this to completely dry and was able to scrub my hands I could get rid of the glitter remnants.  Alas, I am impatient and just want to take my photos.

I’m not even too sure I like how this looked on my nails just because I did not care for the gritty finish of the polish.  I did put a top coat on but I think this probably requires more than one.  All in all, I think this is too high maintenance for me!

What do YOU think of Milani Purple Gleam? Yay or Nay? Cast your vote in the comments below!

About Tina B

Tina is the Founder & Editor of My Highest Self. She has a passion for sharing all things beauty and fashion including thorough product reviews, new product news, and giveaways with her readers. She is a coffee-fanatic and mom of two beautiful children. Her idea of fun usually involves a home pedicure, facial, and a stack of magazines. She is a firm believer in positive thinking, karma, and manifesting your own highest self! Comment or send me a message, I would love to hear from you!
This entry was posted in Beauty, Reviews and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Yay or Nay? Milani Nail Lacquer – Purple Gleam

  1. thecraftyangel says:

    I’ve found using a high-quality fast dry topcoat takes care of most gritty polishes–Butter London PDQ works great over hungry glitters 😉

    • Tina B says:

      Thank you ever so much for your recommendation! I’ve only used the cheapies and then Seche Vite top coats so far, I’ll look into that one.

  2. sugarmitten says:

    I really like the color but I know for me if something is a pain in the butt like that and I’m not that in love with the color it will just end up sitting there never to be used again! If you did love the color I know some topcoats are thicker than others so that might be worth messing with to get rid of the grit but since you aren’t that in love with the color maybe it’s more hassle than it’s worth?

  3. I love the color but I don’t think I can stand the texture… I don’t even like polish with glitter, let alone something that’s going to feel really gritty!

    • Tina B says:

      That’s what’s weird, I love some of the China Glaze and OPI glitters and they are LARGE. This glitter is so small and feels annoying, I’m such a tactile person that it bugs me for some reason!

  4. Amanda (Mae) says:

    I almost bought this tonight, and decided not to, it lookedgritty! 😦 its a shame cuz i love the way it looks, theyare the worst to take off 😦

  5. very pretty but seems like it would be such a pain

  6. beastandbeauty (Mystique) says:

    Nay…too much texture for me…quite a nice colour though. Reminds me on Butter London’s HRH a nice rich purple!

  7. Pingback: L’Oreal Paris Colour Riche Nail Color – Tweet Me |

Leave a comment